Trentino-Alto Adige (official name  The Autonomous Region of Trentino-Alto Adige/Südtirol) is an autonomous Italian region with a special statute located in  north-west Italy. It has a surface area of 13,607  km²and  has a population of 1,052,000.  It is composed of two provinces; Trento and Bolzano. Trento is the capital city.
The name “Trentino” comes from Tridentum (the Roman name for Trento) because of the three hills (Doss Trento, Dosso Sant'Agata e Dosso di San Rocco) which surround the capital city.

The figure of a St. Vanceslao Eagle (symbol of Trentino) appears in the first and fourth quadrants of the coat of arms of the Region, while in the second and third quadrants the traditional eagle, coloured in red, of Tyrol is depicted (symbol of the Province of Bolzano).

Together with the Veneto and  Friuli-Venezia Giulia , Trentino-Alto Adige make up the macro-area denominated the Triveneto.